#PressElect: Your Guide to Election Night TV Coverage

We’re only 24 hours out from Election Day, and TV news networks are prepping for their Tuesday night, wall-to-wall election night coverage. Last year, coverage was watched by 66.84 million viewers according to Nielsen. Americans are looking to news networks to inform them about which polarizing presidential candidate will be the leader of their country.

ABC News

ABC is bringing viewer favorites out of retirement for its election night coverage. Charles Gibson as well as Diane Sawyer, who anchored election night coverage in 2012, are back. George Stephanopoulos will lead his first election night as chief anchor starting at 7:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m., ET.

ABC will broadcast live from Times Square and Good Morning America host Michael Strahan will be outside interacting with voters.

Coverage will include correspondents outside of both Hillary Clinton’s and Donald Trump’s New York campaign headquarters and a state by state electoral analysis.

ABC News will be partnering with Facebook for coverage throughout the evening, and ABC News Digital will be live streaming coverage anchored by Dan Harris and LZ Granderson.

BBC News

The network will provide a special for U.S. election coverage from both New York and Washington D.C. Other correspondents will be located in various battleground states.

CBS News

CBS will be starting 24-hour original news coverage at 6:00 a.m., ET on Election Day with special Campaign 2016: Election Night coverage from 7:00 p.m. – 2:00 a.m., ET.

CBS Evening News anchor, Scott Pelley; CBS This Morning co-hosts Charlie Rose, Gayle King and Norah O’Donnell and Face the Nation anchor, John Dickerson, along with other correspondents will be hosting the coverage from New York.

Correspondents will be stationed at both the New York Clinton and Trump campaign headquarters as well as in swing states, like Ohio and Pennsylvania. International reporting will be available from both Mexico City and Moscow.

Live streaming will available on cbsnews.com. Updates will also be available through their official social media accounts on Facebook and Twitter.


The “Election Night in America” special, anchored by Wolf Blitzer, Jake Tapper, Anderson Cooper and Dana Bash from the CNN Election Center in Washington D.C., begins at 4:00 p.m. ET and extends until 4:00 a.m. the following day.

Correspondents across the country will be live from swing states, viewing parties, and campaign headquarters, while international reporters in Mexico City and Moscow will show the global reaction.

The special will be live streamed on cnn.com, and the network’s official social media channels will be available for updates and engagement on Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat Discover, Kik, Line and Apple News – the night’s hashtag being #MyVote.

Election coverage will be broadcasted in Spanish on CNN International and CNN en Español beginning at 5:00 p.m., ET.


C-SPAN won’t be doing traditional election night coverage. They will be following candidates and listening to victory and concession speeches across the country beginning at 8:00 p.m., ET.

Interact with the channel by calling in or commenting on their official social media on Facebook and Twitter.

FOX News

Fox News is offering its viewers 67 hours of live programming on the channel. Megyn Kelly will be back to anchor another election night alongside Bret Baier starting at 6:00 p.m., ET, serving intuitive insights on the current state of the race as well as reporting on voter irregularities.

Correspondents will be positioned in 11 battleground states, Trump and Clinton’s campaign headquarters and the White House.

Join Bill O’Reilly and Sean Hannity for special Sunday night editions of their shows.


Lester Holt, Chuck Todd, and Savannah Guthrie lead the election night charge from Rockefeller Center in New York from 7:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m., ET.

The façade of 30 Rock will light up red and blue to show the electoral votes for Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton as the night continues. A U.S. map superimposed onto the ice skating rink will show what states went Democrat and which went Republican.

Additional coverage will be brought from the New York headquarters of each of the candidates. Reporters will inform viewers about any voting irregularities and show the world reaction to the winner.

Brian Williams will be spearheading earlier election coverage along with with Rachel Maddow and Chris Matthews starting at 6:00 p.m., ET on MSNBC.


Coverage begins at 8:00 p.m., ET, anchored by Judy Woodruff and Gwen Ifill, alongside analysts including representatives from both the Romney 2012 and Obama 2012 campaigns.

Two correspondents will be reporting live from both Clinton’s and Trump’s campaign headquarters.


Jorge Ramos and María Elena Salinas will be anchoring the election coverage. Analysts from both parties as well as former U.S. Treasury Secretary Rosario Marín will join them.

There will be special coverage from the I-4 corridor in Florida, an area that could potentially be an important factor in who wins the presidential election.

For more election news from us – follow MediaFile on Facebook and Twitter and tweet using the hashtag #PressElect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.