New Editorial Board Announced for 2020-2021

MediaFile is excited to announce the incoming Editorial Board for the 2020-2021 year, effective May 4, 2020. With some familiar faces and some new, all of our incoming board members are eager to help shape our reporting at MediaFile as we head into our fifth year. The outgoing board members will aid in bringing MediaFile’s editorial vision to life during the transition process.

Avi Bajpai will be taking the helm as MediaFile’s new Editor-in-Chief. Avi is stepping up from his position as Politics Editor, where he oversaw coverage of an unprecedented year in American politics that included the coronavirus pandemic, the 2020 Democratic primary and impeachment. In the coming year, he will be focusing on recruiting writers from across the country and producing more enterprise stories and content.

Michael Kohler will be taking on the role of Deputy Editor. In this position, Michael will lead the growing multimedia team and continue his critical reporting on our signature podcast, “Long Time, No See.” He will also help manage and grow MediaFile, always looking for new ways to innovate in digital media.

Laragh Cronin will be our new Politics Editor. A new member of MediaFile, she brings considerable news writing experience to the position and is thrilled to take charge of the Politics section as we head into the crucially important 2020 presidential election.

Shreeya Aranake will continue as International Editor. Previously a writer in the Politics section, Shreeya stepped up to lead the International section earlier this year. She is passionate about covering press freedom across the world, and we are excited to see how she will grow the section over the coming year.

Niko LaMay will be our new Industry Editor. Niko recently joined MediaFile as a writer in the Industry section, where he offered a fresh perspective in covering the world of sports media. Working with his writers, Niko will expand the Industry section’s coverage of the ever-changing business of media.

Samantha Millar and Rob Cline are going to be co-Opinions Editors. Having already served as co-editor this past year, Samantha will continue in the position along with Rob, who has held a number of leadership positions on our editorial board, including Editor-in-Chief. Both Samantha and Rob are excited to lead the section in producing fresh, thought-provoking articles.

Last but certainly not least, Amy Patronella will continue as MediaFile’s Copy Editor, a position to which she has brought her keen eye for detail while editing every article we publish. She has done an exceptional job and we are thrilled to have her stay on our team.

Along with our new Editorial Board, Dayla Durandisse will be our Business Director and Samantha Millar will take on the role of Communications Director.

As we enter a new year in MediaFile’s history, we would like to wholeheartedly thank the departing editors who were vital in making the 2019-2020 year a tremendous one. We have been a great team that consistently put out quality, meaningful content and we are excited to see what our fifth year holds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.